Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Inducts New Members

RALEIGH, N.C. (November 7, 2022) – More than 80 of Wake Tech's best and brightest students are the newest members of the Beta Alpha Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. The international honor society for two-year colleges offers opportunities for scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship for students in Associate in Arts, Associate in Science and Associate in Applied Science degree programs.

An induction and installation of officers ceremony was held today on the Southern Wake Campus. Chapter officers for 2022-23 are Athena Wang, president; Jayla Dennis, vice president, Perry Health Sciences Campus; Rachel Smoke, vice president, Scott Northern Wake Campus; Zoe Horne, vice president, Southern Wake Campus; Johnny Vargas Viera, publicity secretary; Nola Craig, assistant publicity secretary; Sarah Allen, recording secretary; and Mackenzie Thomas, assistant recording secretary.

Dr. Nicole Reaves, Wake Tech's executive vice president and chief programs officer, was the guest speaker. She congratulated the students on their outstanding academic achievements and offered them leadership advice.

"Excellence matters and gets noticed," Reaves said. "Remember the Golden Rule. As you continue as leaders here at the college and beyond, always contribute positively to a culture of caring. I challenge you to not rest on your current laurels but continue to grow. Continue with a persistent desire to do better and be better. Take on new challenges and higher-level goals and embrace failure. At some point, if you are taking risks and taking on new challenges, you will fail. So, don't quit, and remember that every failed experiment is one step closer to success."

Family members and friends proudly watched as officers received medallions in recognition of their leadership and service and inductees were presented with a white rose, symbolizing beauty, purity and intelligence.

Students must maintain a 3.5 grade point average to be eligible for membership. These students are this year's inductees:

  • Melissa Abi
  • Eli Anderson
  • Oliver Anderson
  • Amanawit Assefa
  • Jabob Barnhill
  • Kelly Bateman
  • Kelsey Bell
  • Chrissty Berry Aracena
  • Crysta Bradley
  • Matthew Brown
  • Leslie Buford
  • Lena Carbetta
  • Gianna Cassone
  • Erica Collins
  • Amy Crowell
  • Aidan Demeo
  • Jayla Dennis
  • Kaylee Earle
  • Faith Farrington
  • Kenneth Fisher
  • Felicity Frakes
  • Travis Garner-McGraw
  • German Gonzalez
  • Alexis Goode
  • Hayden Greene
  • Jaqueline Greig
  • Elizabeth Guevin
  • Monica Guirgis
  • Carlota Hewitt
  • Nickolas Hinson
  • Samantha Holder
  • Madeleine Hurst
  • Ethan Huckle
  • Marissa Hutto
  • Marili Infante
  • Monica Jenkins
  • Kevin Johnson
  • Ean King
  • Theodore Kingsberry
  • Sophia Knowlton
  • Cherly Kovic
  • Arabelle Kwiatek
  • Garrison Lamb
  • Christopher Lareau
  • Mariangel Linares
  • Di Liao
  • Victoria Lindsay
  • Emmanuel Lopez
  • McKenzie McCallop
  • Abigail McKee
  • Norangelys Medina
  • Caleb Mills
  • Amani Mohamed
  • Tiye Montgomery
  • Daniel Murray
  • Dhavalkumar Naik
  • Hannah Nelson
  • Florencia Nicolini
  • Tadiwanashe Nsompa
  • Joshua O’Neill
  • Juliette O’Quinn
  • Lorraine Oberg
  • Jennifer Pineda Thornton
  • Safa Raoufi
  • Colby Reid
  • Connor Reid
  • Adrian Rodriguez
  • NolaRuit Craig
  • Charlotte Saine
  • Gustavo Santos Santana
  • Anjanette Saunders
  • Charlene Smith
  • Kadiatou Sow
  • Michael Thomson
  • Lenes Torres
  • Johnny Vargas Viera
  • Isabella Waldron
  • Stephanie Ward-Estep
  • Donna Whitley
  • Christine Willis
  • Rashawne Wilson
  • Angelina Yang
Wake Tech News Update logo
January 2023

Latest News from Wake Tech