Balfour Beatty Inspiration & Innovation Scholarship
The Balfour Beatty Inspiration & Innovation Scholarship is awarded each year to two students pursuing a degree from Wake Tech. The focus of this award is to help students develop the knowledge and skills to serve their communities; to provide them with service opportunities, and to encourage them to become active local and global leaders. To be eligible for this award, students must have completed a minimum of 30 hours of community service while attending Wake Tech.

For more information on submitting your application, please contact OVAL at [email protected]


Awarding Student Excellence
Wake Tech has talent! Each year, our students are nominated for (and often win!) a variety of awards – from the college, the NC Community College System, NC Campus Compact, and others. 

The Office of Volunteerism and Leadership supports the recognition of student achievement. If you or someone you know would be an appropriate nominee for an award listed below contact us

Academic Excellence Award (AEA)
One student from each of North Carolina’s 58 community colleges receives the AEA each year and takes home a special plaque and medallion. AEA selection criteria mirror those for Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society: Students must 1) be currently enrolled, 2) have completed at least 12 semester hours in an associate’s degree program, and 3) have a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher. 

Dallas Herring Achievement Award
This annual award, established by the NC Community College System in 2010, honors the late Dr. Dallas Herring, one of the state’s earliest advocates for community colleges. It is given to the student (current or former) who best embodies Dr. Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.” The recipient is recognized at his or her college and on the NCCCS website. 

Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award
This award was established in 2004 by the NC Association of Community College Presidents to recognize student leadership and service – and to honor former NC Governor Bob Scott. Governor Scott served as the state’s chief executive from 1968 to 1972 and then as president of the NC Community College System from 1983 to 1995; he passed away in January 2009. He was humbled to have this award named in his honor. Five finalists are chosen, and each receives $250; the winner receives $1,000 along with a plaque. 

Community Impact Student Award
This award is given to one student from each member campus during CSNAP through NC Campus Compact. This award recognizes passionate student leaders who find innovative ways to deepen and grow service on their campus and in communities.