Library Accounts and Materials
1.1 ELIGIBILITY OF LIBRARY USERS
Wake Tech Libraries are open to all faculty, staff, students and residents of the Wake County community and any Workforce Continuing Education students. Wake County residents may receive a Community Borrower's Card with proof of residency. To enter the libraries, a valid Wake Tech student ID or the Community Borrowers Card with picture ID must be presented each time. Cooperating Raleigh Colleges (CRC) students need to present their college ID to have access to Wake Tech Libraries.
1.2 RESPONSIBILITIES OF LIBRARY USERS
All eligible users of the Wake Tech Libraries are requested to read and sign a "Borrower's Agreement," which indicates their acknowledgement of the following responsibilities:
- Observe all library rules and be responsible for all materials borrowed with their library cards.
- Pay all fines and other charges for late return, loss or damage to any materials charged on their cards. This includes items lost or stolen by someone using an unreported lost or stolen card.
- Report the loss or the theft of their cards immediately as well as any change in address information.
- Users may not transfer library card accounts to other patrons.
1.3 LIBRARY ACCOUNTS
Library materials may be checked out by establishing a library account at the Circulation Desk at any Wake Tech Libraries location. Wake Tech faculty, staff and students must present a valid Wake Tech photo identification card and complete a library application form to establish a library account. The Wake Tech photo ID becomes the user's library card. Each community library user must be a Wake County resident, present a valid North Carolina driver's license or a valid North Carolina photo ID and complete a library application form to establish an account. Community library users will be issued a Wake Tech library card, which is valid for one year. Workforce Continuing Education students who are not Wake County residents may obtain an instructional support user card from their instructor.
Library accounts are accessible as long as the library user maintains a valid Wake Tech photo ID or library card and fines on that account do not exceed $5. Accounts with fines in excess of $5 will be blocked until paid in full. Partial payments will not be accepted.
1.4 CHECKOUT OF LIBRARY MATERIALS
General collection library books and materials may be checked out by presenting a valid Wake Tech photo ID or Wake Tech library card at the circulation desk.
For students, the maximum number of items that can be checked out on an individual account at any time is nine items. Reserve materials may be checked out for in-library use only.
For faculty and staff, the maximum number of items that can be checked out on an individual account at any time is nine items. For faculty and staff who need to check out items for a semester, special requests may be made through their campus library. All items checked out for a semester are due back to the library by the end of the current semester.
For community borrowers, the maximum number of items that can be checked out on an individual account at any time is three items. Some libraries have restrictions on what items community borrowers may check out. Please contact individual libraries for a list of community borrower restrictions.
The following graph highlights the checkout periods for the various item formats listed by collection and library user.
Workforce Continuing Education users
Materials may be renewed two times, provided the items are not requested by other library users. Renewals may be done in person, by telephone or by accessing "My Account" through the library's online catalog. Please note that online renewals will not work if the item is overdue or if your account has an outstanding balance. Laptops and wi-fi hotspots may be renewed one time, provided the items are not requested by other library users. Renewals may be done in person or by telephone.
1.6 OVERDUE NOTICES
The library user is notified of overdue books and materials by the sending of three overdue notices to the email address in the library's automated system.
- Courtesy reminder notice: Sent four days before due date
- First notice: Sent seven days after due date
- Second notice: Sent 14 days after due date
- Final notice: Sent 21 days after due date
- A cover letter explaining the consequences of returning damaged or overdue materials is sent with the final notice.
Overdue notices are sent via email to library users when materials have not been returned. Failure to receive the notice does not excuse the library user from paying overdue fines. It is the responsibility of the library users to monitor their library transactions and user accounts. Library users may view their library accounts online by accessing the section "My Account" on the library's online catalog.
1.7 OVERDUE FINES
Overdue fines are imposed according to the following guidelines:
$10 max fine per book
$10 max fine per book
$10 max fine per item
- Fines stop accumulating as soon as an overdue item is returned to the library. Materials may be returned to any Wake Tech Campus Library.
- Library users with overdue items or unpaid fines may check out additional items until their total fine reaches $5. Once this amount is reached, library users cannot check out additional items until the fine is paid in full.
- Grades, transcripts and graduation for Wake Tech students are blocked until all library materials are returned and all library fines have been paid in full.
- Payment of library fines may be made at any time by the issuing of a library invoice at the circulation desk. The invoice must be presented to the cashier for payment. On the Southern Wake Campus, the cashier will clear the account in the business office, unblock records in the Registrar's Office and return the paid invoice to the library for clearing of the user's library account. At most other campuses, it is the responsibility of the student to bring the receipt back to the library so that staff may clear the library fine as well as any blocks in the Business Office.
- Faculty and staff do not accrue fines on overdue materials. However, should they need an item longer than the established checkout period, they are requested to inform the library staff at the point of checkout so that due dates can be modified accordingly. Upon leaving the college, all faculty and staff need to ensure that their library accounts are cleared; otherwise, they may be billed for these items.
1.8 FINES, FEES AND PAYMENTS
The library user is responsible for damaged or lost books and materials. Library staff will assess damages to materials and bill(s) will be placed on the library user's account. If a library user loses library materials, the library user is charged a replacement cost for each item, a $10 processing fee on each item and the accrued fine. Library users may reimburse the library for unreturned items in one of two ways:
- Pay the replacement cost of the item as listed in the item record or the default price – $100 for a book and up to $100 for audiovisual material – and the $10 processing fee.
- Purchase a replacement copy of the same edition or newer and pay the $10 processing fee. When an item is returned or replaced within six months of the due date, a credit will be given for the replacement cost, minus the $10 fee. After six months, there will be no refund for a returned or replaced book. Library blocks are applied to student records on the date of the issuance of the final notice and letter. Blocks on student records are removed upon the return of overdue library books and materials in good condition and payment of any fines and fees.
A library user may place a hold on a circulating book, an audiobook or a DVD that is checked out by another user. When books placed on hold are returned to the library, the individual requesting the hold is contacted by email or telephone. The book is labeled for the individual and dated, then placed on the "holds" shelf at the circulation desk, where it is held for seven days.
1.10 ACCESSING "MY ACCOUNT" THROUGH THE LIBRARY'S ONLINE CATALOG
Any account holder can access information regarding a library account by accessing "My Account" through the library's online catalog. Access requires a student/employee ID number or community patron barcode number and personal identification number (PIN). Students should enter "WA" followed by their ID number. A generic PIN of 1234 is established when the account is opened and may be changed by the user through this system. Information and actions accessible include: due dates, renewals, fines and holds.
Student ID = WA+ seven digit student ID number, (ex. WA1234567)
PIN = 1234, (same for everyone, but library users have the option to change the PIN to a four-digit number of their choice.)